Talk of The Villages Florida

Talk of The Villages Florida (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/)
-   Pro Golf (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/pro-golf-333/)
-   -   Bad Golf Ruling (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/pro-golf-333/bad-golf-ruling-331438/)

Marine1974 04-26-2022 07:20 AM

Horschel and Burns were on the same team so either player can assist their team mate with rules or what they perceived happened to ball crossing hazard .

jimh24444@gmail.com 04-26-2022 08:11 AM

Bad golf ruling.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by retiredguy123 (Post 2088657)
Correct, but it appeared that the ball never actually crossed the hazard line, except back at the tee area, about 300 yards away. So, by determining that the ball landed outside of the penalty area, they were able to drop it a few feet from the green. A huge advantage.

But, the point is that golf is a game of rules and honor. Sam Burns was the guy who hit the ball into the water, and he is the one who should have either determined where the drop should be made, or ask a rules official to do it. Billy Horschel should not have interfered in that decision. Golfers can be held accountable for the decisions they make regarding the rules, and they can be penalized or even disciplined. And, the officials are there to enforce the rules. In this case, I think the rules official did not do his job, and Sam Burns wimped out. My opinion.

I agree with this interpretation. The truth is no one saw where the ball landed especially the players on the tee 300 yards away. In that case you have to rely on the honesty of the player Sam Burns.

OhioBuckeye 04-26-2022 08:46 AM

But wouldn’t that mean if this team wanted to place the ball wherever they wanted, wouldn’t that mean go out in the water & get that ball then place it where you want. It’s a ball out of bounds, lost it, can’t find it. Using another ball means you lost a ball & you would have to place another ball right where you saw it go out of bounds? They’re changing rules all the time, stick to the the present ruling.

Dr Winston O Boogie jr 04-26-2022 09:17 AM

It's up to the player to determine where the ball crossed the line. If other players disagree they can call an official who should settle the question. If it's simply he said, he said then the player's opinion will stand unless there are multiple players objecting. The officials also have the option of calling the television booth and having the head of officiating look at any video evidence.

If their fellow competitors made no objection then they probably agreed with Billy. It seems that the OP is the only one that saw it the other way. I'm not saying that he's wrong, it's just that everyone on the course seemed to be in agreement. It is possible that they were all wrong and simply missed it. Bad calls happen in golf just like in every other sport.

gighilton 04-27-2022 02:31 PM

Water Hazard ruling.
 
What I find is that no one here plays by the real rules anyway. So it should be confusing to most. TV has hanged things as far as rulings go...Call it in you might get your two minutes of fame.

It should be decided , the drop area, by the group playing, but not everyone had the same eye line to the crossing point. So, it is as it was.!

retiredguy123 04-27-2022 03:09 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by OhioBuckeye (Post 2088930)
But wouldn’t that mean if this team wanted to place the ball wherever they wanted, wouldn’t that mean go out in the water & get that ball then place it where you want. It’s a ball out of bounds, lost it, can’t find it. Using another ball means you lost a ball & you would have to place another ball right where you saw it go out of bounds? They’re changing rules all the time, stick to the the present ruling.

The ball was not out of bounds or lost. It was in a water hazard, which entitles the player to drop another ball on the path where it entered the hazard, but not closer to the hole, with a one stroke penalty. The issue was about where the ball entered the hazard.

retiredguy123 04-27-2022 03:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dr Winston O Boogie jr (Post 2088949)
It's up to the player to determine where the ball crossed the line. If other players disagree they can call an official who should settle the question. If it's simply he said, he said then the player's opinion will stand unless there are multiple players objecting. The officials also have the option of calling the television booth and having the head of officiating look at any video evidence.

If their fellow competitors made no objection then they probably agreed with Billy. It seems that the OP is the only one that saw it the other way. I'm not saying that he's wrong, it's just that everyone on the course seemed to be in agreement. It is possible that they were all wrong and simply missed it. Bad calls happen in golf just like in every other sport.

Poster No. 8 saw it the same way I did, and so did many others on other internet sites. Billy Horschel was the only player who really expressed an opinion and he acted like a jerk. There didn't seem to be any agreement to his vocal comments by the other players or the rules official. But, the official didn't want to make a ruling, and didn't even ask Sam Burns, the guy who made the shot. The other two players were not really involved because they could not win the tournament.

jedalton 04-27-2022 09:15 PM

only applies if it's a yellow stake hazard.

Dr Winston O Boogie jr 05-20-2022 03:17 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gighilton (Post 2089419)
What I find is that no one here plays by the real rules anyway. So it should be confusing to most. TV has hanged things as far as rulings go...Call it in you might get your two minutes of fame.

It should be decided , the drop area, by the group playing, but not everyone had the same eye line to the crossing point. So, it is as it was.!

The PGA Tour is no longer accepting phone calls on rulings.

Dr Winston O Boogie jr 05-20-2022 03:20 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by retiredguy123 (Post 2089439)
Poster No. 8 saw it the same way I did, and so did many others on other internet sites. Billy Horschel was the only player who really expressed an opinion and he acted like a jerk. There didn't seem to be any agreement to his vocal comments by the other players or the rules official. But, the official didn't want to make a ruling, and didn't even ask Sam Burns, the guy who made the shot. The other two players were not really involved because they could not win the tournament.

A players position in the tournament has nothing to do with any ruling. If they saw things differently they could have spoken up. It's up to all of the players to protect the field in these situations. The fact that no one argued with Horschel indicates to me that none of the players saw enough to dispute his opinion.

Rapscallion St Croix 05-20-2022 03:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by OhioBuckeye (Post 2088930)
But wouldn’t that mean if this team wanted to place the ball wherever they wanted, wouldn’t that mean go out in the water & get that ball then place it where you want. It’s a ball out of bounds, lost it, can’t find it. Using another ball means you lost a ball & you would have to place another ball right where you saw it go out of bounds? They’re changing rules all the time, stick to the the present ruling.

OB and lost ball are both stroke and distance. No drop...next shot must be played from where last shot was played.

retiredguy123 05-20-2022 06:35 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rapscallion St Croix (Post 2097430)
OB and lost ball are both stroke and distance. No drop...next shot must be played from where last shot was played.

This situation was not an out-of-bounds ball or a lost ball. It was a ball that went into a water hazard. The only issue was where did it enter the water hazard? If it crossed the hazard 300 yards back, then the ball needs to be dropped 300 yards back. But, if it hit the ground near the green and then bounced sideways into the hazard at that point, it could be dropped near the green. It is not a stroke and distance penalty situation.

tvbound 05-20-2022 07:03 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rapscallion St Croix (Post 2097430)
OB and lost ball are both stroke and distance. No drop...next shot must be played from where last shot was played.

After the last rules revisions, there is now another option for a ball that is OB - than playing another from where the OB ball was last played.

Rapscallion St Croix 05-21-2022 08:48 AM

7
Quote:

Originally Posted by retiredguy123 (Post 2097482)
This situation was not an out-of-bounds ball or a lost ball. It was a ball that went into a water hazard. The only issue was where did it enter the water hazard? If it crossed the hazard 300 yards back, then the ball needs to be dropped 300 yards back. But, if it hit the ground near the green and then bounced sideways into the hazard at that point, it could be dropped near the green. It is not a stroke and distance penalty situation.

Never said it was. I was addressing the post I quoted.

Rapscallion St Croix 05-21-2022 08:55 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tvbound (Post 2097484)
After the last rules revisions, there is now another option for a ball that is OB - than playing another from where the OB ball was last played.

That change allows a local rule to speed up play. You won't see that in pro golf.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO v2.0.32 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2025 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.