Talk of The Villages Florida

Talk of The Villages Florida (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/)
-   Pro Golf (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/pro-golf-333/)
-   -   Did the USGA make a bad ruling in the US Open? (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/pro-golf-333/did-usga-make-bad-ruling-us-open-359444/)

mike234 06-18-2025 07:25 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SHIBUMI (Post 2439630)
Well, time to open this one up. I think they did. And it took 2 of them to do it! Sam Burns was smart to ask for a second opinion but it did no good.

Obvious water was moved during his practice swings. But, when he took his stance no water was seen. His ball was in 1 1/2 inches of primary rough sitting up. Did anyone put a tee in the ground around the ball to see if there was a water level? Did anyone stand near the ball and see if it was squishy. Not sure but his ball was sitting atop grass that was water logged underneath as displayed by his shot.

So if you don't know the rules, don't feel so bad as the rules makers can make mistakes as well, more costly.

I think it was a bad call. what do you think?:Screen_of_Death:

gee, i musta missed that. i was busy watching the lpga.....i could not pronounce the winners name but it was exciting......N O T

jedalton 06-18-2025 07:56 AM

agree, very bad call
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by SHIBUMI (Post 2439630)
Well, time to open this one up. I think they did. And it took 2 of them to do it! Sam Burns was smart to ask for a second opinion but it did no good.

Obvious water was moved during his practice swings. But, when he took his stance no water was seen. His ball was in 1 1/2 inches of primary rough sitting up. Did anyone put a tee in the ground around the ball to see if there was a water level? Did anyone stand near the ball and see if it was squishy. Not sure but his ball was sitting atop grass that was water logged underneath as displayed by his shot.

So if you don't know the rules, don't feel so bad as the rules makers can make mistakes as well, more costly.

I think it was a bad call. what do you think?:Screen_of_Death:

agree, I think it cost him the tournament.

jedalton 06-18-2025 07:56 AM

it was ugly, a big duck hook left

Regorp 06-18-2025 08:39 AM

Burns
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by SHIBUMI (Post 2439630)
Well, time to open this one up. I think they did. And it took 2 of them to do it! Sam Burns was smart to ask for a second opinion but it did no good.

Obvious water was moved during his practice swings. But, when he took his stance no water was seen. His ball was in 1 1/2 inches of primary rough sitting up. Did anyone put a tee in the ground around the ball to see if there was a water level? Did anyone stand near the ball and see if it was squishy. Not sure but his ball was sitting atop grass that was water logged underneath as displayed by his shot.

So if you don't know the rules, don't feel so bad as the rules makers can make mistakes as well, more costly.

I think it was a bad call. what do you think?:Screen_of_Death:

Water under the bridge now. It was a terrible tournament for PGA fantasy golf, as I had my worst results ever. Very difficult course. Defending champion at 10 over misses cut. Wow!

Bassdeer 06-18-2025 08:40 AM

Burns
 
He fell apart anyway, tied for 7th and not because of that hole.

Lancer 06-18-2025 09:22 AM

All you Television rules officials. Unless you were there you don’t know what the USGA rules officials saw. This just got into his head and he fell apart.

BrianL99 06-18-2025 03:53 PM

So you all want to be armchair USGA Rules Officials?

Year you go.

Golf Rules Quiz Questions : USGA/R&A Exam Prep

Practice up.

Want to work at the US Open as a USGA Rules Official?

Take the USGA Rules test. Volunteer for some local tournaments until you have enough experience to work a PGA sponsored local event. Do that for 5-10 years and maybe you can work up to being an assistant at a minor USGA event, like the Four Ball or Amateur Qualifying.

Work as a Rules Official at USGA minor events for another 5-10 years.

After 20+ years, if you've proven yourself to be one of the 50 or so best Rules Officials in the USA, you *might* get the chance to work at the US Open.

Thomas Pagel, who was in charge at the US Open (& all USGA events), has been a Rules Official for 24 years, 12 with the USGA. He has a fairly good grasp of the Rules of Golf.

I sent him an invitation to join TOTV.

SHIBUMI 06-18-2025 09:51 PM

Don't waste Mr. Pagels Time and Ours
 
unless Pagel was one of the two who made the call..........we don't want words we want the two who made the call to fess up......they would be welcome on TOTV


Quote:

Originally Posted by BrianL99 (Post 2439868)
So you all want to be armchair USGA Rules Officials?

Year you go.

Golf Rules Quiz Questions : USGA/R&A Exam Prep

Practice up.

Want to work at the US Open as a USGA Rules Official?

Take the USGA Rules test. Volunteer for some local tournaments until you have enough experience to work a PGA sponsored local event. Do that for 5-10 years and maybe you can work up to being an assistant at a minor USGA event, like the Four Ball or Amateur Qualifying.

Work as a Rules Official at USGA minor events for another 5-10 years.

After 20+ years, if you've proven yourself to be one of the 50 or so best Rules Officials in the USA, you *might* get the chance to work at the US Open.

Thomas Pagel, who was in charge at the US Open (& all USGA events), has been a Rules Official for 24 years, 12 with the USGA. He has a fairly good grasp of the Rules of Golf.

I sent him an invitation to join TOTV.


Rainger99 06-19-2025 04:41 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SHIBUMI (Post 2439630)

Obvious water was moved during his practice swings. But, when he took his stance no water was seen.

Isn’t that the answer??

“an accumulation of water must remain present either before or after your stance is taken”

SHIBUMI 06-19-2025 06:53 AM

stance was clean
 
ball was not, evidenced by wetness of divot after shot

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rainger99 (Post 2439904)
Isn’t that the answer??

“an accumulation of water must remain present either before or after your stance is taken”


bobmarc 06-19-2025 08:42 AM

Bad call or not, Sam will still be going to the bank this week.

Rainger99 06-19-2025 08:45 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by SHIBUMI (Post 2439935)
ball was not, evidenced by wetness of divot after shot

The rule states “an accumulation of water must remain present either before or after your stance is taken.”

It doesn't say anything about water after the shot or whether the divot was wet after the shot.

SHIBUMI 06-19-2025 09:47 AM

So
 
you take your stance with no water present at your feet, but your ball is sitting in a puddle of water! I dont think so, if you took a stance around the ball the water would have shown up, its not just your stance, its also the lie of the ball, and if someone says it was just squishy, then squishy denotes water.

None of the Golf Channel announcers commented on the ruling, too scared. The only comment was an admiration for Burns because he took it so well.......that implies he disagreed as well but backed off any critical remarks, for obvious reasons.


Quote:

Originally Posted by Rainger99 (Post 2439978)
The rule states “an accumulation of water must remain present either before or after your stance is taken.”

It doesn't say anything about water after the shot or whether the divot was wet after the shot.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:24 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2025, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO v2.0.32 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2025 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.