Restaurant workers salaries

Closed Thread
Old 02-21-2012, 10:34 AM
Veteran member
Default Don't over think it

We can over think any issue to death. I'm not a lawyer or a CPA. We all here in The Villages have been around the block a few times. I married into restaurant family in my previous life and no it inside out. I've owned my own business ( not hospitality) am a union member for many years, so I've been around. I'll say again, you can look at this from any angle you want to but if it quacks like a duck it's probably a duck.

IF THE RESTAURANT INDUSTRY WANTS THIS BILL IT'S FOR THEIR BENEFIT NOT THE WORKERS.

Keep it simple friends, maybe some of you can come up with examples on how lowering someones wages improved their standard of living?????
Old 02-21-2012, 10:39 AM
Veteran member

Unfortunately we are probable better informed than the workers but maybe someone should ask them how they would feel getting a pay cut. If they feel they would be better of at the state minimum wage than why break your back waiting tables??? Work for McDonald's or Walmart!
Old 02-21-2012, 10:41 AM
Veteran member

Quote:
Originally Posted by memason View Post
From everything I have read about this bill and the details that were posted by ilovetv, which came directly from the bill language, it seems to me that this bill actually has a positive impact on servers. They will be guaranteed a minimum wage of $7.67/hr....

I am not able to find a single link that substantiates the claims made by the OP or that the restaurant association is behind this bill.

Bill32....perhaps you can provide some links that substantiate your claims.

Sorry...I just don't get it...
Here is one article

Florida Minimum Wage Could Be Slashed For Restaurant Workers
Old 02-21-2012, 10:43 AM
Veteran member

Quote:
Originally Posted by mulligan View Post