Closed Thread
Old 11-15-2018, 09:02 AM

Directvnow lacks a built in DVR...….
Royal Air Force Benson, England
Eielson Air Force Base, AK, Clark AFB, Philippines
Kadena AFB, Okinawa Japan, Yakota AFB, Japan
Osan AB, Pyeongtaek, South Korea, Yangsan Army Garrison, Seoul South Korea
Old 01-22-2019, 07:24 AM

Thanks to everyone for your responses. I’ve been using YouTube TV for almost two months now. Cutting that cable cord was the best decision. I love the channel selection with YouTube TV. Extensive sports channels. Generous movie selections. All the local channels and News channels. It can be a bit glitchy at times, but nothing that would ever make me return to cable.
Old 01-22-2019, 10:26 AM

For those of you using the streaming services: who then is your ISP? Who provides the wires to stream the bits to your house? Usually it is the cable companies. Do you just drop the TV service from the cable company? That's been my big hesitation in "cutting the cord". I still have a cord provided by my cable co.
Old 01-22-2019, 12:00 PM
Sage

Your choices in The Villages for internet (for streaming) are Comcast, Spectrum below 466a only (I believe), and CenturyLink (fiber optics to the house below 466a and some other places and DSL over copper phone lines elsewhere). If you have a "triple play" type deal for internet, TV, and phone, drop the TV and phone and go with internet only. You can use a Voice-over-IP phone, such as OOMA, for less cost if you want a "land line".

Quote:
Originally Posted by NatureBoy View Post
For those of you using the streaming services: who then is your ISP? Who provides the wires to stream the bits to your house? Usually it is the cable companies. Do you just drop the TV service from the cable company? That's been my big hesitation in "cutting the cord". I still have a cord provided by my cable co.
Old 01-22-2019, 12:30 PM
Gold member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jnjguy View Post