Talk of The Villages Florida

Talk of The Villages Florida (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/)
-   Talk of the Television (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/talk-television-338/)
-   -   YouTube TV (https://www.talkofthevillages.com/forums/talk-television-338/youtube-tv-277165/)

seoulbrooks 11-15-2018 09:02 AM

Directvnow lacks a built in DVR...….

Jnjguy 01-22-2019 07:24 AM

Thanks to everyone for your responses. I’ve been using YouTube TV for almost two months now. Cutting that cable cord was the best decision. I love the channel selection with YouTube TV. Extensive sports channels. Generous movie selections. All the local channels and News channels. It can be a bit glitchy at times, but nothing that would ever make me return to cable.

NatureBoy 01-22-2019 10:26 AM

For those of you using the streaming services: who then is your ISP? Who provides the wires to stream the bits to your house? Usually it is the cable companies. Do you just drop the TV service from the cable company? That's been my big hesitation in "cutting the cord". I still have a cord provided by my cable co.

biker1 01-22-2019 12:00 PM

Your choices in The Villages for internet (for streaming) are Comcast, Spectrum below 466a only (I believe), and CenturyLink (fiber optics to the house below 466a and some other places and DSL over copper phone lines elsewhere). If you have a "triple play" type deal for internet, TV, and phone, drop the TV and phone and go with internet only. You can use a Voice-over-IP phone, such as OOMA, for less cost if you want a "land line".

Quote:

Originally Posted by NatureBoy (Post 1618254)
For those of you using the streaming services: who then is your ISP? Who provides the wires to stream the bits to your house? Usually it is the cable companies. Do you just drop the TV service from the cable company? That's been my big hesitation in "cutting the cord". I still have a cord provided by my cable co.

Fredster 01-22-2019 12:30 PM

Quote: