Advice Needed - Renting Out My Property

Closed Thread
Old 12-14-2019, 05:26 PM
Default Advice Needed - Renting Out My Property

I'd like to know your recent experiences with property managers. I need one that is totally full service, including advertising the property, obtaining/screening tenants, repairing or replacing anything that breaks, and making sure everything is clean and in good order when a tenant moves out. I am buying this house for myself but won't be moving down for several months or more, and I want a company that will take care of it and make sure it stays in top condition. If you've worked with a company you really liked, please post. I'm new to all this, so I'll take any help you can give.
Old 12-14-2019, 06:14 PM
Sage
Thanked 13,677 Times in 5,229 Posts

I don't know what you mean by "several months" but if this is going to be your permanent home, you may want to consider not renting it at all. No management company can assure you that it will stay in top condition. Renters can do things to a property that will downgrade the condition, and the management company cannot prevent it. Renters can bring "service animals" or smoke in the house, and that will degrade the property. And, you really won't make a lot of money in a few months if you hire a full service management company. Just my opinion. Good luck.
Old 12-14-2019, 06:27 PM
Sage
Location: village of Fenney, Ford City, Pa., and Hudson, Ohio
Thanked 4,333 Times in 1,444 Posts