Another Golf Cart Question: 4 Seaters

Closed Thread
Old 10-19-2013, 12:37 PM
Default Another Golf Cart Question: 4 Seaters

I am searching for our first cart and would use a 4 seater occasionally, maybe 2-3 days every six weeks. I also have 2 smallish dogs that I would like to take for rides (I've been promising them for 3 years). Several cart salesmen have warned me about the evils of the 4 seaters, so, what are your opinions, facts and experiences. I would have placed this in the Golf Cart thread but not many people seem to read that one. Thanks!
Old 10-19-2013, 12:48 PM
Sage

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spectreron View Post
I am searching for our first cart and would use a 4 seater occasionally, maybe 2-3 days every six weeks. I also have 2 smallish dogs that I would like to take for rides (I've been promising them for 3 years). Several cart salesmen have warned me about the evils of the 4 seaters, so, what are your opinions, facts and experiences. I would have placed this in the Golf Cart thread but not many people seem to read that one. Thanks!
We have a four seater. The extra seat is so handy for taking along friends, visitors, shopping, and taking our huge dog for a ride. I've never heard of "evils of four seaters". What specifically did the salesmen warn you about??
Old 10-19-2013, 01:10 PM
Gold member

For what it's worth, I have seen on several occasions, operators of a stretch golf cart with 4 forward facing seats having difficulty negotiating the turns entering and leaving tunnels. One driver said she wished the dang thing had power steering. Don't believe this is a problem with the carts that have the rear facing back seat.
Old 10-19-2013, 01:23 PM
Sage

The extra weight of the seat requires I think heavy duty springs, so the ones I was in tend to be a harder ride.

IOW you can feel the difference.
Old 10-19-2013, 01:27 PM
Gold member

Never having ridden in one, I wonder, do folks riding in rear facing seat in a gas powered cart smell the exhaust?