Buffalo

Closed Thread
Old 03-17-2011, 08:35 PM
Veteran member

Seems there always has to be a conspiracy or controversy with _____fill in the blank! I tend to try to think "the best" of a situation instead of being cynical.

I am a recent resident here but had seen the buffalo the 1st time we came to visit 2 or 3 years ago. We have friends who've owned their place here for 13 years and they told us it was grandparents climbing the fence or placing their grandkids inside or both...someone got hurt so away with the animals due to the liability. People do crazy things and sometimes it affects everyone else. All other speculation aside...I tend to believe this one!!
Old 03-17-2011, 08:54 PM
Sage
Send a message via Yahoo to redwitch

lol Gracie -- No, I'd go to them and watch them play. They really did like to butt heads around 2:00 am.

Phyllis, I don't think the Morses ever promised that the buffalo would be here forever but, from what I understand, it was implied and was certainly a big part of their advertising campaigns for a long time. I doubt that the nature preserves are technically permanent. If the developer chooses to drain them and build, he can and we'd be up in arms about that, too. I never said the developer didn't have the right to move the buffalo, I just miss them and so do many others. There was something majestic about those beasts and, regardless of the reason, there is something truly sad about them being moved and houses put up in their place.

"There are only two ways to live your life: One is as though nothing is a miracle; the other is as though everything is a miracle." Albert Einstein
Old 03-17-2011, 09:31 PM

We have lived here full time for 7 years. Loved the buffalo. Everybody did. There were no bulls in these pastures. Some cows were moved into barns to be bred. Then every spring there were calves born in the pastures. The residents really enjoyed these animals. Residents really fought to keep at least some of the buffalo.