Changing times in The Villages

Closed Thread
Old 08-19-2013, 12:55 PM
Sage

Quote:
Originally Posted by DianeM View Post
I'm a new resident - only 3 months - and to be honest - the jury is still out on whether I'll be staying. I cannot rave about life in The Villages. It's just okay - no better or worse. Perhaps for golfers, it's nirvana. I don't know about that. I admit that I drank the koolaid and bought into the whole "Village" concept and was lured by the promises of stuff to do. And..there is tons to do. But I'm giving it a year. Next June, there may be another house for sale.
Diane, thanks for sharing your opinion. Most of us love TV. For us personally, it's the best decision we've ever made. But TV isn't for everyone. I've certainly known people who tried life in TV, and it wasn't a good fit for them. Whether they wanted more privacy or to be closer to the ocean or to live in a smaller community or just missed their old neighborhood, whatever. It doesn't make you depressed or a bad person, and I don't think you'll scare anyone with your comments.

As far as the expansion of The Villages changing it's "character", even in our brief six years, there has been huge growth. But the clever design of each individual Village within a huge city, still makes us somehow believe we live in a small and friendly community.
Old 08-19-2013, 01:19 PM
Sage
Thanked 2,244 Times in 707 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by redwitch View Post
Um, Gracie, you are not an old biddie. An old biddie is mean-spirited, jealous of those younger, healthier, richer, etc. An old biddie does her absolute best to make those around her feel inferior. BTW -- I've known old biddies who are in their 20s. It just happens that this go round I mentioned old biddies in their 60s and 70s. It ain't an age thing, it's a behavior thang.