Does this seem ethical?

Closed Thread
Old 09-17-2021, 08:04 PM
Veteran member

Quote:
Originally Posted by eweissenbach View Post
Again my friends, my daughter was not unhappy and did not feel cheated. I have known the listing rep for 12 years and consider him a friend, and she has done business with him previously. He wanted to originally list the properties for X dollars. She and I talked and I told her they should list for X +20K. They did and they sold - everybody satisfied! I still feel it is not an ethical way to do business, shutting out the general market.
You have a most kind spirit. Perhaps I am being overly cynical but the listing agent not only brought you an offer before it was listed on the TV website he also suggested a sell price that was at least $20k under the market value. Either he is not a very good agent or he was being unscrupulous.
Old 09-17-2021, 08:53 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by jgmroc67 View Post
Absolutely justified. As a former realtor myself, when I saw other agents do this, I knew that the agent was not looking after the fiduciary responsibility that we owe towards our clients. The listing price is only a target price. The listing price is only an opinion. The whole market determines what full market value is . As an example, that listing agent could’ve underpriced it for the purpose of a quick sale in his pocket. Exposing it to the full market could’ve brought a offer over the listing price.
Amen.
It may or may not have been unethical, but anyone allowing a home to be sold this way in today’s market is getting cheated out of the true market value. And no doubt the sales agent knew exactly what he/she was doing.
Old 09-18-2021, 01:01 AM

Why did she accept the offer ?
Old 09-18-2021, 10:02 AM

Being an unadvertised sale makes the transaction unusable for appraisal purposes because it was not publicly offered for sale.
Old 09-18-2021, 10:30 AM
Veteran member