Does this seem ethical?

Closed Thread
Old 09-17-2021, 06:43 AM
Gold member
Thanked 1,062 Times in 531 Posts

The realtor knew the place would sell fast and didn't want to be just the listing agent, she wanted to get the selling agent commission. That's why she held it to a pocket listing. Did your daughter ask why it wasn't advertised?
Old 09-17-2021, 06:47 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by eweissenbach View Post
My daughter recently sold two courtyard villas south of 44 that she had owned and rented for three years. She made a nice profit but the way the deals went down seemed a little “off” to me, and I am a former Realtor. She signed listing documents with a Villages sales rep on the first one, but it didn’t appear on the website within a week. Shortly thereafter the sales rep called and said he had a full-price cash offer and she accepted it. A couple weeks later she did the same thing with the second villa and the same scenario occurred. It seems like that happens regularly as when you go to the TV website and search for CYVs there are only a couple listed for sale and dozens listed as pending that never were shown as for sale. My understanding is the sales reps get a listing and circulate it internally to see if any agents have interested party or parties before putting it on the open market. Of course if any agent themselves would be interested I presume they could buy it. That seems a little like insider dealing to me. If I list my property it seems my interests are best served by getting it in front of the widest possible audience. My daughter felt she got adequate value for both units, but you can’t really know if the public never got a shot at it. Anybody feel that my question is justified?
Simple message, NEVER use TV realtors, you lose every time. Did you know if someone backs out of a deal TV has a clause that says they get half of the earnest money?
Old 09-17-2021, 06:49 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nucky View Post