Florida Oddities? What have you experienced?

Closed Thread
Old 02-01-2019, 07:24 PM
Default Florida Oddities? What have you experienced?

I noticed our rain sensor for the sprinkler system was not working. I've replaced it once maybe 8 years ago so assumed old age.

Anyway, after buying a replacement and installing it I got to looking at the failed rain sensor and saw "plant fibers" in the area blocking the switch that would open the normally closed circuit when it got wet. After tearing apart the rain sensor (I'm a mechanical engineer by training and that's what we do), I found what looked a lot like Spanish Moss fibers that had grown and spread in that cavity. Took a tweezer to prize them out, but I'm sure that's what nixed the rain sensor.

Only in Florida!
Old 02-01-2019, 08:29 PM
Sage
Thanked 6,119 Times in 2,237 Posts

Interesting, I will have to look at mine, I think I see some Clorox in the near future....
Old 02-01-2019, 08:56 PM
Sage
Thanked 3,625 Times in 1,884 Posts

It's something that when you are speaking to a Florida Native they speak quickly at the Rhythm of a person from the Tri-State area of N.Y.

Same Florida Native speaking to you about a service that they provide that involves $$ Money $$ it's a long-winded speech and they stretch out their story forever. Wanna grab them by the neck and shake them and tell them just spit it out and get it over already.

I still love it in Florida. Every place has its oddities.
Old 02-01-2019, 09:16 PM
Veteran member

The restaurants in this area do not compare to what we have in my home state of Rhode Island. It certainly helps that Johnson & Wales Culinary Institue is based there.
Old 02-01-2019, 11:52 PM
Sage
Thanked 3,625 Times in 1,884 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by B-flat View Post
The restaurants in this area do not compare to what we have in my home state of Rhode Island. It certainly helps that Johnson & Wales Culinary Institue is based there.