Flyover of new areas in the south end of The Villages - 4-21-19

Closed Thread
Old 04-30-2019, 04:29 PM
Sage
Location: village of Fenney, Ford City, Pa., and Hudson, Ohio
Thanked 4,337 Times in 1,445 Posts

The site of a championship course has been announced but it has yet to be started. It's not a hardship to drive to one of the courses north of 44.
Old 05-01-2019, 07:51 PM
Platinum member
Thanked 3,519 Times in 712 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by valuemkt View Post
I'm no engineer, but do those "berms" really prevent much noise from the turnpike ?? Those homes look awfully close.
I was curious also about the effectiveness also so I took a sound pressure meter with me when I visited Linden that Sunday and noted between 6 and 10 db lower sound level difference at the bottom (house level) as compared to the top of the berm. There are also a large number of trees and bushes on the top of the berm that will further attenuate the sound as they mature over the next year or so. The Turnpike itself is significantly lower (20-25 ft.) than the top of the berm and the homes so much of the sound is deflected upwards.

Subjectively, there was a considerable difference from the top of the hill to the bottom and as I moved closer to the homes and farther from the berm it seemed even less. When I walked to the actual street between the houses, about 75 ft from the bottom of the berm, I could not distinguish any Turnpike noise from the other background noise.
www.goldwingnut.com
YouTube –YouTube.com/GoldWingnut and YouTube.com/GoldWingnutProductions
Carpe diem quam minimum credula postero
Society is produced by our wants, and government by wickedness; the former promotes our happiness positively by uniting our affections, the latter negatively by restraining our vices. - Thomas Paine, 1/10/1776
Old 05-02-2019, 06:53 AM