Generator Purchase

Closed Thread
Old 07-17-2019, 09:09 AM
Veteran member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chatbrat View Post
I'm a retired electrical contractor, if you have natural gas , @ your house-its a big plus, otherwise go with propane--gasoline in an un injected engine is hit or miss for reliability--kohler is very reliable--, all you really should care about is enough power for a/c, refrigerator and lighting--if you want to not get a real big unit get a window a/c unit for a bedroom, easy in and out and will function with a small portable geneset, however; gasoline may not be available during a prolonged power outage==have enough fuel for 10 days
my gas gen. would burn about 1/2 gal. of gas per hour , if I remember right? you need lots of gas for a week.
Old 07-17-2019, 09:30 AM
Platinum member
Thanked 2,345 Times in 733 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by village dreamer View Post
my gas gen. would burn about 1/2 gal. of gas per hour , if I remember right? you need lots of gas for a week.
And here you have come to the heart of the matter.

Inverter generators use a motor to power a generator, generators produce DC power at the same voltage at all engine rpms. The inverter technology contained within the generator converts the DC power to AC.

Traditional generators, regardless of fuel, use a motor to power an alternator. Alternators produce ac power at a given voltage if the speed is constant. Which means 3,600 rpms, or screaming fast, in most cases. This is why traditional generators use a lot of fuel.

Inverter generators purr along at low rpms producing constant power, albeit at a lower wattage. When more power (watts or amps) is required the rpms kick up. That is how they save fuel.

If you think you need Max wattage at every moment you are mistaken.