Grass question - not the smoking kind.

Closed Thread
Old 09-25-2021, 08:40 PM
Default Grass question - not the smoking kind.

I'm new to the world of St. Augustine grass. I have areas in the lawn where I see this. Is it baby St. Augustine, Bermuda or what? (hoping this picture is visible)
Thanks
Attached Thumbnails
The Villages Florida: Click image for larger version

Name:	P1020964.jpg
Views:	3389
Size:	131.7 KB
ID:	90953  
Old 09-25-2021, 10:49 PM
Soaring Eagle member
Thanked 1,681 Times in 631 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by djlnc View Post
I'm new to the world of St. Augustine grass. I have areas in the lawn where I see this. Is it baby St. Augustine, Bermuda or what? (hoping this picture is visible)
Thanks
That is Torpedo Grass and it is a problem for all of us with Zoysia or St. Augustine lawns. We have been pulling it out for over five years.
Old 09-25-2021, 11:10 PM
Gold member
Thanked 1,302 Times in 560 Posts

If you fertilize your own lawn, throw out any fertilizer you brought from up North!
Scott's or the other Brand names that you purchase down here will mark their bags " Southern"mix for Southern grasses.. Not sure the size of your yard , but mine being the postage stamp size , and plenty of time on my hands, I am able to handle it myself! You may find it fun and rewarding to do it yourself..

Last edited by RICH1; 09-25-2021 at 11:15 PM. Reason: Addition
Old 09-26-2021, 08:05 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by VApeople View Post
That is Torpedo Grass and it is a problem for all of us with Zoysia or St. Augustine lawns. We have been pulling it out for over five years.
Dallisgrass up north, and Torpedo Grass here. Why is God punishing me?
Old 09-26-2021, 09:01 AM
Sage
Thanked 4,681 Times in 1,534 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by RICH1 View Post
If you fertilize your own lawn, throw out any fertilizer you brought from up North!