Gutters

Closed Thread
Old 02-27-2020, 10:22 AM
Default Gutters

I'm a newbie first poster, but a regular reader of TOTV beginning several months before moving here from Colorado in December.

I've noticed something about the gutters on my house that I've never seen before in other parts of the country I have lived in. In several locations the gutters empty straight into the ground rather than carrying water several feet away so as to avoid possible penetration into the homes.

Maybe one reason for this is because most homes here are built on a slab and have no basement, but wouldn't it still be a best practice to have the gutters discharge water towards the swells that are between the homes?

I was hoping those of you who are more familiar with construction practices here could tell me the reason gutter discharge is designed this way here.
Old 02-27-2020, 10:49 AM
Sage
Location: village of Fenney, Ford City, Pa., and Hudson, Ohio
Thanked 4,285 Times in 1,427 Posts

The water is most likely going into another pipe underground and then out away from the house. Ours go under our landscape and then out into the lawn area.
Old 02-27-2020, 01:02 PM
Sage
Thanked 13,416 Times in 5,107 Posts

I would check around your property to see if you have an area drain in your yard. This would be a plastic grate about 12 inches by 12 inches that the gutter downspouts may be connect to. If so, there would be an underground pipe from the area drain to a large drainage basin in the street. It is also possible that the downspouts are connected to a buried french drain where the water will just seep into the ground, but that is less likely. There may also be a pop--up drain near the street. This would be a round plastic plate in your grass, about 6 inches in diameter, with a plastic cover that will pop up when the pipe fills with water.

Last edited by retiredguy123; 02-27-2020 at 01:10 PM.
Old 02-27-2020, 02:18 PM
Veteran member