Has anyone else noticed all the road debris? Who cleans this up?

Closed Thread
Old 01-13-2023, 07:49 PM
Default Has anyone else noticed all the road debris? Who cleans this up?

Greetings:

I'm very new to the TV and this forum, so please forgive if this has been addressed.

I've noticed a lot of road debris in the local roadways, bike lanes, various intersections.....ie: gravel, hunks of metal, old accident debris, etc......and I'm wondering which branch of local government is responsible for the cleanup of the roads..... both in the City of Wildwood specifically (both in/out of TV) and/or Sumter County? I've seen this road debris at many intersections from 301 and Marsh Bend to Morse and 44. Does the City of Wildwood and/or Sumter County have a street sweeper(s) that anyone has seen? Is there a regular seasonal road sweeping schedule perhaps? Like I mentioned, I'm very new here and just wondering.... this forum is GREAT!!

Thanks much.
Old 01-13-2023, 07:56 PM
Default cleanliness

No I have not seems ,to be pretty clean, as usual....
Old 01-13-2023, 08:23 PM
Soaring Eagle member
Thanked 2,685 Times in 972 Posts

I'm guessing that inside the bubble it gets cleaned up by the companies hired by the CDDs to maintain the flowers, shrubs and general cleanliness of the common areas.

Outside the bubble? It just sits there until whatever government agency has the responsibility to maintain that particular roadway gets around to dealing with it. Depending upon which specific roadway you are talking about, it could be city, county, state, or federal.

Which system delivers the best results? Federal, state, county, city, or privately contracted?

I have an opinion. I'll let you come to your own.
Old 01-14-2023, 08:54 AM
Veteran member
Thanked 1,076 Times in 432 Posts