Any Attorneys on this Board

Closed Thread
Old 09-04-2007, 09:27 PM
Veteran member
Default Any Attorneys on this Board

Are non-compete agreements enforced in the state of FLA?
Old 09-06-2007, 12:40 PM
Taltarzac
Default Re: Any Attorneys on this Board

Quote:
Originally Posted by nanci2539
Are non-compete agreements enforced in the state of FLA?
I am not a FL licensed lawyer but have a law degree from the U of MN (1989) and a MA in Librarianship and Information Management from Denver University (1984). This link might help you out-- http://orlandoemploymentlawyer.com/n...nd-answers.htm. I do not know this attorney. I am a law librarian by training/ experience/inclination and not a licensed FL attorney.
Old 09-06-2007, 02:40 PM
Taltarzac

Quote:
Originally Posted by oshunluva
what is a non-compete agreement, never heard of it? but curious.
This link covers it. The law varies from state to state though on this. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Non-compete_clause
Old 09-06-2007, 04:02 PM
Veteran member

My husband works for a company based in MN. We live in IL. His company, originally based in CA, was bought out last year. The one in MN. He signed his non-compete when he went to work ten years ago.

Last week, he met with management and they changed his job. He was a VP of sales, He is now a regional manager and reporting to a younger guy. This came along with a pay cut. The reason -- this "younger" guy who is now the VP didn't make as much as my husband so instead of raising his salary, they decreased my husband's salary. And, gave him more responsibility! They offered him a severance package which was a quarter of the amount he makes, not even 3 months. He came home to think about it.

During this same time, I was let go from my company after ten years. They eliminated my job and are "tightening up" as they tell me. There's no cause; just part of a downsizing trend in my company.