I'll take "Things that never happened" for $800, Alex.

Closed Thread
Old 09-15-2021, 07:01 AM
Veteran member
Default Omg

We have brains so we may filter all this garbage . It was a click bait title . But the truth is we do have many hospitals at near capacity .
Old 09-15-2021, 07:13 AM
Soaring Eagle member
Thanked 2,659 Times in 962 Posts

I don't know if we'll ever figure this out, but one thing that I have always felt was wrong, and this pandemic has reenforced for me, is the idea that we have these huge buildings, i.e. hospitals, where we send, treat, and concentrate, infectious people, and then we send into these same buildings, patients and care providers who aren't sick or infectious.
If I need a new knee, or I've been in a car accident, or I'm having a heart attack, why am I being sent to a building full of infected people? If I work as a surgeon or nurse or radiographic technician, why am a working in building full of infected, and infectious people?
I'm sure the answer would be "well, there is an economy of scale here. We can use the same billing and business staff." A stock answer but I wonder if that really is even true when weighed against the cost of cross-transmission of infectious organisms from the treatment of infected people to non-infected people in the current health care model.
Old 09-15-2021, 07:59 AM
Veteran member
Thanked 1,199 Times in 461 Posts
Default Infectious disease

Quote:
Originally Posted by Laker14 View Post
I don't know if we'll ever figure this out, but one thing that I have always felt was wrong, and this pandemic has reenforced for me, is the idea that we have these huge buildings, i.e. hospitals, where we send, treat, and concentrate, infectious people, and then we send into these same buildings, patients and care providers who aren't sick or infectious.