Kitchen Design Questions

Closed Thread
Old 07-13-2012, 09:56 AM
Default Kitchen Design Questions

Coming mid-September for Design Team meeting. We bought a designer. We bought an Ivy but a TON of the designer models have the same basic layout.

Was wondering, for anyone who has recently been through the design process, what sort of options are available for the kitchen. Yes, I know there are different appliance packages and different cabinet faces...this is not what I'm talking about!

I went into one model home where there was a built-in trash cabinet (looked like a regular cabinet, but when you went to open it it slid out with a trash can)...
are you allowed to literally pick out how each cabinet in the kitchen will "function?" I know that some kitchen layouts already include differences like a wine rack and the placement of the pantry...

What about sinks? Can you get a "farmhouse" sink?

Has anyone done anything "cool" in their kitchen? I'm a pretty avid home cook and plan to continue this fattening hobby once we move there next year...but I know people often move down there (my mother-in-law for one) and only fix breakfast in their kitchens and eat out the rest of the time. I plan on still spending a LOT of time in my kitchen!

Any help/insight you can give would be appreciated!
Old 07-13-2012, 10:06 AM
Veteran member
Default Kitchens

We're building a Lantana and have our meeting in Nov.
My wife has similar questions. When we were on our LSV asked our sales gal specifically about the pull out trash and she said probably not. So unless someone got it for your model, you need to wait for the design team...

My wife also wants two tone cabinets. ie the cabinets unders the sink to be different from the ones on the wall. I told her to hold her breath... but she'll ask for it....

Good luck and congrats on building your new home!
Old 07-13-2012, 11:05 AM