Someone else opinion

Closed Thread
Old 11-14-2007, 01:49 PM
Default Someone else opinion

I found this post on another board which is not too popular:
S Anderson wrote:
By all means move to The Villages if you are white, old and are very well off and don't mind being ripped off. I am here helping my parent who made the mistake of buying here. The construction is shoddy using sub standard materials and poor wormanship. They do a good job of making the surface look good but underneath its a mess. I am an electrican by trade with my own company and I would fire any of my guys that would do work like I have discovered in my parents home. I wish they had let me know that they were buying here so I could have advised them not to.
The vinyl siding looks like it was done by teenagers. Do yourself a favor and avoid this place like the plague.
Agree, I have helped build a few houses out there, and the company I worked for was all about quantity not quality. I would not even think about wasting money in the Villages.
Does any one have an opinion on this??? It is scaring.
Old 11-14-2007, 02:04 PM
Eternal Member
Default Re: Someone else opinion

I don't agree that the construction is shoddy. While I don't have a career in homebuilding to look back on, I'm pretty handy and can see problems many others would miss. Everything in my house was really well done. I couldn't find problems!

I'm guessing the post originates in a sort of "sour grapes" vein.
Old 11-14-2007, 02:05 PM
Veteran member

Boy is that negative. Well, I'm not an electrician -- nor is my husband -- so not sure how much weight our experience carries but here it is anyway.