Possible move to The Villages

Closed Thread
Old 02-27-2012, 01:02 PM
Default Possible move to The Villages

We are thinking about a possible move to the Villages. I’m 52 and my wife is 40. We are not ready or in Financial position to retire. My wife has a Bachelors degree in Nursing; I’m a Real Estate Broker in Ohio and West Virginia. Our there decent paying nursing jobs in the Villages? I’m not sure what I could do, but my income would not have to be very high. We would be paying cash for our house so we would not have a monthly mortgage to worry about. We are planning a visit early this summer. We've done a lot of research but not much information on employment. Thanks for any advise.

Last edited by jaj111; 02-27-2012 at 05:24 PM.
Old 02-27-2012, 04:49 PM
Platinum member

jaj111:

I'm surprised no one else has offered advice, since you posted only hours ago!

Welcome to TOTV. You will find answers to any of your questions here, and not just about The Villages, either!

We have what I consider to be an A-Number-One hospital right here. Should be a place for your nurse spouse. Trouble is that there are probably dozens and dozens of other nurses fixing to "retire" here!

And, while the place crawls with Real Estate agents, many are only part-timers, so maybe you could join that crowd!

In any case, you should be aware that salary levels are well below those elsewhere, or so I've heard. I'm among the many of us here who no longer worry about that sort of thing!

Stay in touch on this site. If nothing else, you'll learn a whale of a lot!

SWR
Old 02-27-2012, 05:19 PM

Swrinfla: