Newer Southern Villages-Golf Cart Living

Closed Thread
Old 09-25-2022, 10:04 AM
Sage
Thanked 4,167 Times in 1,928 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by JMintzer View Post
I have no idea what that means...

All well and good unless you have hard copy music/movies...

I have more than a few boxed sets of The Beatles, for example. I need a CD/DVD player to access them...
Call me old fashioned but I like the old fashioned way better.
Old 09-25-2022, 10:07 AM
Sage

Quote:
Originally Posted by JMintzer View Post
Not sure if serious...

The Villages is only supplying some extra wiring... Everything else is up the the homeowner to purchase...
I was serious. I guess I'm just learning what a "smart house" is. We just have a new "smart" HVAC system in our older home. I really do like the convenience of being able to turn the temperature down before we head home from a week of traveling. I'm still amazed at what I have seen and what has become available in my lifetime. I will never take anything for granted.
Old 09-25-2022, 07:29 PM
Soaring Eagle member
Location: Drayton Plains, MI, Vietnam, Waterford, MI, Pennacamp, Fernandina, Duval, 1 retired in Richmond
Thanked 1,588 Times in 567 Posts

Our smart homes, north and in TV, can turn on the oven, start washer, coffee pot, lights, thermostat, cameras, garage door, sprinklers. Can’t remember the last time I physically had to turn on a light. Once I did preheat my oven on the 7th hole just because I could
Old 09-26-2022, 04:46 PM
Soaring Eagle member
Thanked 2,663 Times in 941 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Laker14 View Post
I was asked by two couples who are prospective buyers in TV, and they had formed this impression from lurking on TOTV, and asked me about it.
It seemed like a plausible opinion to have formed, so I was seeking input from people who live in these areas.