Plotted where Villages sinkholes have occurred

Old 06-15-2015, 10:04 AM
Default Plotted where Villages sinkholes have occurred

I have been a resident of the Villages for only a few years. Using the news releases and postings on this website, I got the elevation chart from the Sumter county website and overlayed (using google maps) the roads of the villages. From that, I put a yellow dot where I have record of past sinkholes; whether big ones or little ones. Using Google earth (which has plotted every road in the Villages) and the elevation they provide, I put the elevation of that area by the yellow dot. Disregarding two areas where sinkholes occurred because of retention pond lining issues, I have 8 others as shown. What I found (though absolutely unscientific) is that of the 8 that I know of, were all below 84 feet in elevation, with the lowest being at 63 ft. There are portions of the Villages where the elevation is much higher... all the way up to 140 feet. No sinkholes have occurred in those areas. So.. I'm thinking that the more elevation / ground you have under you, the lesser the probability of a sinkhole occurring. Anyhow, I'm just sharing for those that may be interested. And BTW, if I am missing any locations from the past, just post it's location and date and I will add to the chart.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Sinkholes in Villages MAP 2015-0615.pdf (2.84 MB, 23460 views)

Last edited by VillagerFrog58; 06-15-2015 at 10:06 AM. Reason: correct spelling nit
Old 06-15-2015, 10:10 AM
Default Here are some of the post articles used for mapping

Here five of the recent ones that I have.
Old 06-15-2015, 10:35 AM
Sage
Thanked 5,996 Times in 2,197 Posts

Wow, this is impressive. Now I do not recall the details, but there was some talk among the neighbors of a sinkhole near the western end of yearling way, you have the one near the eastern end.
Old 06-15-2015, 10:43 AM
Default Yearling way....