Plotted where Villages sinkholes have occurred

Old 06-18-2015, 12:13 AM

So how do you figure out the elevation?
Old 06-18-2015, 06:17 AM
Gold member

Quote:
Originally Posted by graciegirl View Post
Seems that would be catastrophic and that is covered by homeowners insurance.

This is an ad, but has some good info;

Sinkhole vs. Catastrophic Ground Coverage Collapse
If there's no structural damage to the home there is no coverage. You could have a large sinkhole on your property that has not damage to your home.
Old 07-07-2015, 03:04 PM
Sage
Thanked 2,278 Times in 807 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by VillagerFrog58 View Post
I have been a resident of the Villages for only a few years. Using the news releases and postings on this website, I got the elevation chart from the Sumter county website and overlayed (using google maps) the roads of the villages. From that, I put a yellow dot where I have record of past sinkholes; whether big ones or little ones. Using Google earth (which has plotted every road in the Villages) and the elevation they provide, I put the elevation of that area by the yellow dot. Disregarding two areas where sinkholes occurred because of retention pond lining issues, I have 8 others as shown. What I found (though absolutely unscientific) is that of the 8 that I know of, were all below 84 feet in elevation, with the lowest being at 63 ft. There are portions of the Villages where the elevation is much higher... all the way up to 140 feet. No sinkholes have occurred in those areas. So.. I'm thinking that the more elevation / ground you have under you, the lesser the probability of a sinkhole occurring. Anyhow, I'm just sharing for those that may be interested. And BTW, if I am missing any locations from the past, just post it's location and date and I will add to the chart.

Two more sinkholes to add to the chart. Ashland and Sabel Chase.
Old 07-07-2015, 04:01 PM
Default Updated sinkhole map Jul 7th with Ashland & Sabal Chase added