Plumbing Questions About the New Home

Closed Thread
Old 11-05-2019, 08:56 PM
Default Plumbing Questions About the New Home

Village newbie here.
Why is there a vertical pipe attached to the drain under the sink?
Second question: Why does it take so long for the water in the kitchen faucet to heat up? (We have a Gardenia.)
Thanks.
Old 11-05-2019, 09:04 PM
Sage
Thanked 13,423 Times in 5,111 Posts

The vertical pipe under the kitchen sink is called an "automatic vent". It is used to vent the fixture because it is not convenient to pipe a vent to the roof at that location. All fixtures must be vented to facilitate proper drainage from the fixture. Most other fixtures are vented through the roof.

The time it takes to get hot water to any faucet is based on the distance from the faucet to the water heater.
Old 11-05-2019, 10:17 PM
Sage
Thanked 2,689 Times in 1,205 Posts

A hot water recirculation system can be added to have hot water available more quickly.

Hot Water Recirculation Systems - InterNACHI
Old 11-05-2019, 10:26 PM
Sage
Thanked 3,094 Times in 1,336 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robbie0723 View Post
A hot water recirculation system can be added to have hot water available more quickly.

Hot Water Recirculation Systems - InterNACHI
Yes on that. I installed one about a year or so ago and now we get VERY fast H/W at all faucets. The shower was taking 20-30 seconds to get full hot especially in colder weather as it sometimes goes just about to freezing around here (and even sometimes below freezing) overnight. All the "why can't you wait the extra 20 seconds" comments will come as they do in every thread like this, but my answer is "just because I don't want to." Up north we had a dedicated loop system because there was easy access to the crawl space but down here we have to use the "integrated loop" which isn't quite as efficient. This is the one I installed: https://www.amazon.com/Watts-500800-...81636251&psc=1.