Roundabouts

Closed Thread
Old 02-03-2015, 10:46 AM
Soaring Eagle member

I like the Circles. That being said and after following all the pertinent rules they still present a challenge and require complete situational awareness. I find that trying to get into the Resident gate is especially challenging if you have been in the inside lane.

I still prefer Circles to traffic lights.
Old 02-03-2015, 10:53 AM

Navigation of roundabouts (single or double lane) is going the be an issue until the entire country has the same number of roundabouts as intersections. I do service work for a living in the Great White North (aka Minnesota) and put on a lot of miles on my van every week. That being the case I probably encounter a roundabout in MN maybe once a month. So whenever I'm in TV for our semi-annual visit I review the brochure about roundabouts and I'm good to go for the week or so I'm here. Once we move here permanently, I'll throw the brochure in the trash because I'll be navigating multiple roundabouts on a daily basis.

Racine, WI
Elk River, MN
not there yet, but we're working on it - The Villages, FL
Old 02-03-2015, 11:13 AM
Gold member

Quote:
Originally Posted by tomwed View Post
What about having only 1 lane? It's called a Modern Roundabout

What is a Modern Roundabout?

The Villages Florida

Simply stated, a modern roundabout is a transportation management tool that moves traffic through an intersection without the aid of traffic signals. More specifically, a modern roundabout is an intersection with one-way circulation around a central island where entering traffic must yield the right-of-way to the traffic circulating within the roundabout.

A modern roundabout should not be confused with traffic rotaries or circles, which are much larger, with higher speeds and multiple lanes for entering and exiting. As traffic volumes increase, collisions and traffic jams can occur because vehicles are not required to yield to traffic before entering.