Safe Harbor Insurance covers sinkhole

Closed Thread
Old 05-26-2018, 07:32 AM
Default Sinkhole coverage

So what have you been told is the difference between "Catastropic ground collapse" coverage & "Sinkhole" coverage? Sounds like the same thing to me or a matter of semantics!?
Old 05-26-2018, 07:39 AM
Default What is happening in Calumet?

A bigger question than where to get sink hole coverage is what is causing the problem in The Villages. These holes started from a culvert that was either installed wrong or with defective material which caused an underground water leak which lead to a large erosion problem which made sink holes.
I am no engineer, but when large amounts of water leak from drainage pipes your going to have major erosion. In the southern part of The Villages I am told they now use concrete pipe, in the old section they use steel. All street drains that can be are interconnected in The Villages, and feed into their man made ponds. Look at your neighborhood, these large culvert style pipes run underground in between many of our houses.
So the question is what is going on? Were the drains in Calumet installed wrong?? Did The Villages use cheap foreign piping that is corroding and collapsing in places 15 years after installation. Is this an isolated incidence or should we all be worried??? BIG QUESTION TO ME? They admitted fault was theirs in Calumet, but really haven't explained the how and why. Look at the pictures all over the web. This was a defective drain that caused a man made sink hole. I do not believe this is mother natures work!
Old 05-26-2018, 07:46 AM
Sage

Quote:
Originally Posted by mkleinman View Post
So what have you been told is the difference between "Catastropic ground collapse" coverage & "Sinkhole" coverage? Sounds like the same thing to me or a matter of semantics!?
This has been discussed on here many times and it is not the same thing. Here is an explanation.

https://www.myfloridacfo.com/divisio.../Sinkholes.pdf