Second Villages Woodshop?

Closed Thread
Old 03-12-2018, 10:24 PM
Default Second Villages Woodshop?

I read somewhere there are plans to add a second Villages Woodworking Shop near Fenney or the southern end. Are there any current Villages Woodworking Club members who can provide me with any info on this?
I am an avid woodworker and look forward to being involved in the club when we move to The Villages in a few years.
Old 03-13-2018, 07:23 AM
Sage
Thanked 2,154 Times in 770 Posts

They're going to have to add another wood shop and another everything else down near Fenny. If you live in Fenny, you might as well be in another development.
The Beatlemaniacs of The Villages meet every Friday 10:00am at the O'Dell Recreation Center.

"I never considered a difference of opinion in politics, in religion, in philosophy, as cause for withdrawing from a friend." - Thomas Jefferson to William Hamilton, April 22, 1800.
Old 03-13-2018, 09:42 AM
Veteran member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr Winston O Boogie jr View Post
They're going to have to add another wood shop and another everything else down near Fenny. If you live in Fenny, you might as well be in another development.
I have to agree with that. I live in Dunedin (what used to be the south end of The Villages) and find myself not taking up things (like being in plays, trying archery, bowling etc.) that are up in the north end as it seems like too much of a drive to do regularly. I can't imagine what folks down in Fenney and the other new neighborhoods would feel like about driving from all the way down there to all the way up there. And when golf cart access does become available to them, that will be a 90-120 minute drive each way (based on the fact that it takes me nearly an hour in my golf cart to go clear up "over the bridge" to meetings for the Village Birders).