The Sharon

Closed Thread
Old 03-31-2015, 04:22 PM
Sage
Thanked 2,317 Times in 871 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by newguyintv View Post
Could it be you'd feel differently if you were a business owner instead of a critic!
I was a business owner and I suspect that the business's were involved with the Developer since this hasn't exactly been a secret. If they were not involved then shame on them. No business owner would take a passive position, or maybe I should have said should take a passive position. They, and their investors, work from facts and market impact studies, not emotion or speculation. If they felt the gloom and doom that you do they would have been significantly more vocal. I also believe that if The Sharon attracts those willing to pay the ticket prices that may bring several hundred higher economic level folks downtime which is a positive to business. Either way, only time will give us the facts, right now all you have is opinion and speculation.

Berks County Pennsylvania
Old 04-01-2015, 05:29 PM
Gold member

BTW, tickets are now on sale for the first slate of performances and selling very fast!

"I wish I didn't know now, what I didn't know then"
-Bob Seger-
Old 04-01-2015, 07:28 PM
Sage

So disappointed! Our wonderful Philharmonic will be at Savannah Center for the 2015-16 season.
Old 04-01-2015, 09:00 PM
Veteran member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Carla B View Post
So disappointed! Our wonderful Philharmonic will be at Savannah Center for the 2015-16 season.
Considering audience size this year, adding 200 more seats would be a disaster. Tonights performance was less than 3/4 full. Look at the 4/14-15 performance at the Villages Box office - more than 1/2 empty seats.

The board made the right decision. And unless season ticket sales go up, Isee major issues in the future.
Old 04-01-2015, 09:16 PM