Small Claims Court

Closed Thread
Old 02-15-2010, 05:26 PM
Question Small Claims Court

I am being forced to take Pat the Plumber into Small Claims Court for misrepresentation and grossly overcharging for work promised.

If you, or if you know of anyone who has recent experience in Small Claims Court regarding Pat the Plumber (or any small local business) can give me some advise, I would deeply appreciate it.

I am determined to take this matter as far as I can both legally and morally. Any help or suggestions would be appreciated.

Thank You

JoeyD
Old 02-15-2010, 08:02 PM
Soaring Eagle member

JoeyD

Im no lawyer but how do you plan to prove Joe the Plumber grossly misrepresented or overcharged.... The fact that it does not appear correct or you have a gut feeling, or my neighbor said, will not cut muster in a court of law.

You will need to substantiate your claim by having another plumber or a plumbing expert testify on your behalf what was entatiled to do the job correctly and that what you received was so far out of line with what the established norm was, it was excessive. The burden of proof is on you. If you could show the Joe the Plumber has a history of overcharging that would help.

I have gone to court a number of times representating myself (mostly traffic), but you cannot let emotions get in the way of facts. Facts will always win a case and you can never be over-prepared even for small claims court.
Old 02-16-2010, 05:07 PM