Snakes in the House

Closed Thread
Old 05-16-2011, 06:45 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by oot View Post
So Chief X - are you near a preserve as well?
No, I'm in El Cortez. The only thing around me is older people and bad drivers...oh, and a few snakes so it seems.
Old 05-17-2011, 07:00 AM
Soaring Eagle member
Default Snakes

I don't know how big your snakes are but. I recently read an artical about someone bringing there plants inside for the winter and didn't check for critters beforehand. After the nice warmth of the house it seems the snakes left the plants to go exploring. Just an option.
Old 05-17-2011, 08:53 AM

Just another war story, I am a retired plumbing contractor, and we got a call of a toilet leaking on the floor, we checked it 3 times and couldn`t find anything wrong, come to find out the water on the floor was caused by rats using the toilet as a way to get into the house, we installed a check valve on the drain and that solved the problem.
Old 05-17-2011, 05:50 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chief X View Post
From another Snake Hater - I was sitting in a lawn chair behind my home a month or so ago, and watched a large (to me) black snake slither up to my house and go up between the vinyl siding and wood construction of the house. This truly got my attention as I hate snakes (not scared of them, just hate them).

I went in the house and did two things - first, I got my 9mm out of storage and ready for use, and second, I got my luggage out and started packing. There isn't room in my home for a snake or any reptile for that matter. New York winters aren't really that bad.

About 2 weeks later, sitting behind my home again, I watched as another black, four foot long slithering slimy creature made its way to my home and as it started to go up to the siding, another black snake stuck its head out from behind the siding and hissed at the "would be intruder". The "intruder" turned and left, probably looking for another home as inviting as mine.