Tech Geek moving to the Villages questions on Internet

Closed Thread
Old 07-29-2021, 12:27 PM

I'm also a retired tech guy.

Left my 1Gbit FiOS service in Oregon, which provided 2 phone lines, TV, and internet. Fast and reliable, though FiOS was originally Verizon, then Frontier, and was transitioning to Ziply when I left.

Choices in Village of Marsh Bend are limited to Comcast/Xfinity and Spectrum for cable tv/internet. T-Nobike is also marketing cell based Home internet.

I chose Spectrum, and found that the basic 200Mbps service and lowest tier cable TV satisfied my needs, despite my tech background. Reliability is the most important factor for me. I chose Spectrum because of no caps on internet usage. It's been reliable for that. Traded original 2-tuner DVR for a 6-tuner one, so happier when I need to record.

Most tv viewing is streaming, and no problems with basic 200 Mbps service.

Only deficiency is upload speeds, but that is the problem with cable internet technology.

One other thing, I don't use the wifi that Spectrum provides ($5/mo).

Instead I installed my own mesh WiFi network with several hubs spread around the Designer Iris home. Better security.

So... Your internet and tv choices are determined by the Village you choose to move into.

Related, I have ATT for cell service. When I moved here into Marsh Bend in Oct 2019, service sucked. I used my cell hotspot for Internet, and it was ok as an intern solution until Spectrum was available. I located the hotspot near the window that had the best connection. It was just under 100Mbps most of the time. Cell reception for calls varied within the home, and most of the time sucked.

In Spring 2020, ATT upgraded it's towers, and reception within the hole improved greatly, but we had learned to use WiFi calling which works great if your phone has that capability.