Tech Geek moving to the Villages questions on Internet

Closed Thread
Old 07-26-2021, 03:43 PM
Default Tech Geek moving to the Villages questions on Internet

Hi I am a Tech geek. I am looking for a house in the Villages and hope to move in soon. I am SOOOO sad that I cannot get ATT&T Gigabit service in The Villages as I have had them for a few years now in GA and love the service. No problems and great price with free HBO Max as well.

Looks like the new houses seem to only have Xfinity so I will likely have to go with that but how are the speeds as it is my understanding with Cable internet you share with other customers so you are never really getting the Highest speed advertised.

Also if and when other services become available it is worth changing?

Thanks in Advance
Old 07-26-2021, 04:36 PM
Sage
Thanked 9,468 Times in 3,093 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by TerriS View Post
Hi I am a Tech geek. I am looking for a house in the Villages and hope to move in soon. I am SOOOO sad that I cannot get ATT&T Gigabit service in The Villages as I have had them for a few years now in GA and love the service. No problems and great price with free HBO Max as well.

Looks like the new houses seem to only have Xfinity so I will likely have to go with that but how are the speeds as it is my understanding with Cable internet you share with other customers so you are never really getting the Highest speed advertised.

Thanks in Advance
Up in the "historic section" (far northeast corner, on the other side of 441/27), we can get GB service with xfinity.

Most of us don't, but it's available.

I have 100mbps service, which is sufficient for streaming, browsing, and gaming if you're into that. I just did a check with speedtest.net and it's pinging at 25, downloading at 90.78 (connected directly to my router, which is then connected to my modem - I own both, I don't rent), and upload on the slow side at 6.01 but that's about as good as you can get with this plan anyway.