Tech Geek moving to the Villages questions on Internet

Closed Thread
Old 07-28-2021, 07:26 AM
Veteran member

Quote:
Originally Posted by OrangeBlossomBaby View Post
The only downside to comcast that I've personally experienced, is having to renegotiate the price before your year of "discounted promotion" ends. Trying to talk with anyone there requires more patience than I have, so I end up annoyed by the time someone actually answers the phone.

I always get what I want from them though. It's just an hour of aggravation every year that I would prefer to do without.
I just gave up and left them because of their constant price increases. Interestingly, none of their salespeople made any attempt to have me stay.
Old 07-28-2021, 07:45 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by rsmurano View Post
I'm an ex high tech geek in the IT sector for over 43 years. There is nothing liker fiber. I had 1000M AT&T fiber for over 5 years before moving here 2 weeks ago. I have a new house and I went with xfinity with 400M speed.
Most people don't realize that fiber is a much better transport than copper, it is quieter if streaming music, and with fiber, you get the same speed up or down. My 400M speed gets me 400M+ down (down from that during the day) and 20M up on a good day.
The other thing to watch out for is your house will probably not be wired for ethernet. My house, they used cat 6 cable but is terminated for phone (using 2 pairs of wire). You would have to get each cable re-terminated for ethernet.
Thanks I am in IT and I can terminate CAT 6 cable. Looks like most of the new homes are Smart Home ready which according to the realtor means they have 2 ethernet drops. I can likely work with that and add additional ones.
Old 07-28-2021, 07:46 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by EdFNJ View Post