Are there any Veterans here?

Closed Thread
Old 10-13-2007, 04:40 AM
Send a message via AIM to FireOnWindCSR
Default Re: Are there any Veterans here? Army

Enlisted in the Army 1985 E-4, 1988 Commisioned 2nd LT - Old Dominion Univ, Ft Sill, Ft Bragg, Ft McClellan, Ft Campbell. Fun stuff. Fold socks, underwear, dig holes, clean and shoot arms, etc... made a lot quality friends. Lost a brother on PAN AM flt over Scotland
Old 10-13-2007, 10:13 AM
Send a message via AIM to JRietz Send a message via Skype™ to JRietz
Default Re: Are there any Veterans here?

I was in the USAF during the Vietnam War, but was never involved with it. I have never referred to myself as a Vietnam Vet as it just didn't seem appropriate. Recently, I found that I am a Vet - a Vet of the Cold War.

It appears that in the 1998 National Defense Authorization Act, Secretary of Defense approved awarding Cold War Recognition Certificates to all members of the armed forces and qualified federal government civilian personnel who faithfully and honorably served the United States any time during the Cold War era, Sept. 2, 1945, through Dec. 26, 1991.

For more information and the way to get your certificate, go to this page (it seems the Army has the task of handling this for everyone qualified):

https://www.hrc.army.mil/site/active...ar/default.htm
You will probably be notified about an unknown certifying authority (www.hrc.army.mil... duh), but since you only print out the form it shouldn't be a problem.

Jim
Johnston Atoll AFB
Lady Lake
Town of Lady Lake Commissioner (Ward 5)
Old 10-13-2007, 01:11 PM
Default (Marine Mom) Re: Are there any Veterans here?

Wow! Thanks to ALL of you who have defended our rights here on homeland ground.

I have never been in the military. I did think about it as a teen, but got involved in the computer field instead. Dang, keypunch class! *chuckle*

My brother was a Marine in the 60's.