Windows in Garage Doors

Closed Thread
Old 06-13-2011, 08:18 AM
Default Windows in Garage Doors

Has anyone had the top row of panels in your garage door replaced with window panels? I would like to have this done and am looking for a recommendation for someone to do it and the approximate cost.
Thanks
Old 06-13-2011, 08:32 AM
Veteran member

Your first step would be to call the Architectural Board - look in the front section of your Villages phone book - and find out if it is permitted. You would need their okay to do it since that is a modification to the outside of your home.
Old 06-13-2011, 11:58 AM

I do the garage door windows and they are $40.00 each window. I have an ad in the daily sun . I have been doing this for 6 years in the villages. You do not need to go to the review board
Old 06-13-2011, 12:04 PM
Veteran member

To be sure, I would still ask the Architectural Board if their approval is necessary. DrDodge may be 100% right - but ask to be 100% certain.
Old 06-13-2011, 02:01 PM
Sage
Thanked 5,361 Times in 2,394 Posts

Potential new TOTV advertiser!
Old 06-13-2011, 02:10 PM

Tbugs,
Thanks for your advice. I don't think it will be a problem as these doors are all over The Villages. Some are installed on the homes built by The Villages, so I can't see it needing to be approved as you are not really changing the building. On our street which is new there are about 5 originally built that way by The Villages. We installed gutters when we were there in the spring, again without approval as some have them and some don't. The Villages only include them on certain house where water pouring off the front of the house is a problem for the door.

Drdodge,
Would you mind PM me with your contact details as we plan on having it done when we return in the fall.
Thanks.
Old 06-13-2011, 02:22 PM
Soaring Eagle member
Cool