Water seeping into carpet from concrete pad

Closed Thread
Old 02-12-2020, 08:39 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by retiredguy123 View Post
Before calling an HVAC contractor, just pour water down the condensate line and see if it comes out the other end outside. Homeowners should know how to do this, and they should pour vinegar through the condensate line every 3 months or so to prevent it from clogging. But I doubt that the condensate line runs under the master bedroom.
I totally agree with you. I have been doing this for 17 years.......Never had a problem.
Old 02-12-2020, 10:38 PM
Veteran member

If there's an outside faucet on outside wall of the room. Water lines are either under the slab or in base of interior wall just above baseboard. Latter was the routing in my house to outside water faucet
Old 02-13-2020, 05:58 AM

Most likely a slab leak. Call American leak detection or Sleuth. They will come out and pressure test your house and locate the leak or source of the water so you plumber can jack hammer the slab and repair the pipe. Usually costs around $300 for their services.
Old 02-13-2020, 06:12 AM
Sage
Thanked 1,507 Times in 677 Posts

Hopefully, the OP has already called a leak detection company, determined the issue and is having it currently repaired...while thread posts keep occurring.

I will be anxious to hear, when the OP gets the chance, to find out from them what it was...and how serious.

Good luck OP.
Old 02-13-2020, 09:37 AM

We had a similar problem, quickly diagnosed by our insurance adjuster, as water from dry, cracking, poorly applied caulk on our windows. I was very confident it was coming up from below and ended up being cured by recaulking our windows!
Old 02-13-2020, 10:14 AM