When Did It Finally Hit You?

Closed Thread
Old 03-17-2013, 10:53 PM
Location: Bloomfield Hills, MI, Livonia, Ann Arbor, Fairbanks AK. Last stop to be TV!
Default When Did It Finally Hit You?

Saturday Mar 16,2013 - I called the last person to say "goodbye" and got a voicemail message instead. The weird feeling started then. Up until then I had been flying up and back for several months to finish treatments and follow up on cases, but each time it was "I'll see you next month". This time that part wasn't in the equation. This was IT. This time the flight was the end. Now I became a REAL Villlager, and beginning a new life. I don't regret retiring, and look forward to the next phase of life, but.....?
I always thought that after seeing the last patient on a friday nite, and sending them on their healthy way, that I would keel over and that would be the end. ---- But Trish got me to realize there is more to life than working till you die.
So-- as I drove to the airport, I looked carefully at the oh so familiar things around me and came to understand that this was the last time I would see them.

40 years of driving this path and being able to close my eyes for 20 minutes and still know exactly where I was and then knowing that this part of my life was over and I was starting a new life.
It finally hit me.

When did it hit you?

You can't laugh at the same things again and again, but why do you keep crying over the same things again and again
"If life hands you lemons, make lemonade"
Personally, I'll go for a Tom Collins.
Old 03-18-2013, 01:47 AM
Sage
Thanked 1,039 Times in 373 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by doccrocker View Post
40 years of driving this path and being able to close my eyes for 20 minutes and still know exactly where I was and then knowing that this part of my life was over and I was starting a new life.
It finally hit me.

When did it hit you?