Will snowbirds return?

Closed Thread
Old 08-03-2020, 01:46 PM
Veteran member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob3302 View Post
Why would we come back to the epicenter???? In this county in Wisconsin we have had 1 death and average 6 new cases a day. Pretty scary looking at the counties in around the Villages.

BTW we have great access to great medical facilities like Mayo.
There are not many cases in TV - it is mostly Orlando and Miami area. I have a LOT of friends and relatives who have had it in Wisconsin(where I live now). Now you have to wear a mask here. I WISH I could go to Florida (oops, I am for 2 weeks on the 9th YEAH!). Can't wait.
Snow Flake until I retire
Old 08-03-2020, 02:16 PM
Veteran member

Quote:
Originally Posted by themartianchick View Post
My husband and I became snowbirds when he retired 5 years ago. I was an independent contractor and could work from anywhere. We own our condo and tended to spend at least 2 months each winter in it. Last year, we were unable to spend any time there due to caring for my mom. This year we only spent a couple of days for the same reason and the added fact that I decided to go back to work. This upcoming winter, I could probably carve out a couple of weeks to visit our condo. (We really miss it!) However, the threat of COVID-19 makes us unwilling to travel to Florida now. Florida's unwillingness to take strong measures to combat the virus make us unwilling to risk our lives. We know that we could shelter in place in FL, as we have in NY. However, we don't really see the advantage to doing so. If there is snow shoveling to be done, we can either do it ourselves of hire someone else to take care of it. Our area of NY gets a lot of it!