How do you stop your dogs from tearing your birdcage screen?

Closed Thread
Old 12-05-2020, 05:09 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuzzyjourneyfan View Post
This is my first time posting, so I hope that I am doing it correctly. We would like to move to The Villages by summer. We have two small (15 pounds each) dogs. We would like to get a house with a large birdcage to keep them safe from wild animals. I think that they would probably tear up the screen if they saw something interesting in the backyard. What do pet owners do to avoid this problem? Is there something waterproof that we could put up against the screen?
Geeez, really? I hope they are not yappers. Coyotes, yes, coyotes, are still still around and they will tear through the lanai and snatch them before you know it. I know of someone who lost his cat that way. He destroyed the lanai, blood everywhere and didn't bother to take the cat with him. Ate him right there. Owner wasn't home. Coyotes have lost their natural habitat and will hunt and kill anything; they have become more aggressive.. Same goes for alligators. Use common sense
Old 12-05-2020, 05:58 AM
Veteran member

Remove the bird cage.
Old 12-05-2020, 06:30 AM
Veteran member
Thanked 1,245 Times in 450 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by tophcfa View Post
Easiest question I have ever responded to. Train them properly.
Train wild animals.....how does one do that????
Old 12-05-2020, 06:45 AM
Veteran member

Several responses. There is dog resistant screen , much heavier .
Second is adding aluminum sheets
Lastly never leave dogs alone in bird cages . We have eagles and hawks here . I did see an eagle tear and crash thru a roof screen into a pool .
Old 12-05-2020, 07:22 AM

I'd be more concerned with wild animals tearing the screen to get in to your dogs
Old 12-05-2020, 08:00 AM

Buy a roll of old fashioned chicken wire. Very inexpensive barrier. Look for it at Rural King or Tractor supply.

Dogs will not scratch through it.
Old 12-05-2020, 08:07 AM