My dilema--Rent, co-own or?

Closed Thread
Old 10-09-2019, 08:19 PM
Question My dilema--Rent, co-own or?

Newbie here--Recently visited TV and liked what we saw.
Grandchildren live in multiple locations so our situation would probably be to live in TV part-time and live near family part-time.
So my dilema is:
Purchase and rent out the time we're not there. We would probaly
live in TV 5-6 months but no more than 2 months at a time.
Or are there any co-owned houses in TV where the owners share the time and thus avoid the hassles of renting
If there is another idea out there I'd welcome it also
Thanks in advance for any replies
Old 10-09-2019, 09:00 PM
Veteran member
Location: The Villages - Formerly Atlanta Endicott and Syracuse NY
Default part time

be happy to rent you a great designer for april may in a desirable location
Old 10-09-2019, 09:54 PM
Sage
Thanked 3,578 Times in 1,323 Posts

Depends on when you want to live here. You might want to rent for the two months at a time until you are sure of future plans. If you avoid high season, renting is reasonable
Old 10-10-2019, 04:16 AM
Sage
Thanked 7,355 Times in 2,508 Posts

Wife and I have been renting in TV for 20+ years.
We looked into owning real hard, and came to the conclusion, that paying for the upkeep, taxes, fees etc on two houses was a financial non starter.
Renting monthly in the 'off' season is real cheap, and in the high season, reasonable, considering the facilities.
We are definitely in front financialy, but if we were allowed to stay in US for more than 6 months, we would purchase in TV, and rent in UK in reverse to our present arrangement.

Just my inane opinion!
Old 10-10-2019, 05:27 AM
Sage
Location: South of 466a, if you don't like me.......I live in Orlando.
Thanked 9,754 Times in 3,629 Posts

Rent for a couple months and decide where you want to live.

If you rent for 5-6 months per year (during season), you in effect paid for a house for a year. And you have lost market value appreciation.