Newbie here. Age question.

Closed Thread
Old 12-03-2018, 09:16 AM

I echo Gracigirl's replay. I'm 81 and work PT out of my home. Unfortunately my wife has become ill but with all the friends we have, she'll never be alone. We've been here 21 years and have seen the growth. I took up golf for the first time at 63 yr's old. If we had moved here earlier and I took up golf, I'd probably be a better golfer. Come on down, at your ages, who know what you'll accomplish.
Old 12-03-2018, 09:36 AM

I would not have moved here at 55. I was enjoying my college teaching too much and the young people I came in contact with every day. I felt it kept me young mentally and physically. Only after having a surprising heart bypass at the age of 62 did I decide to retire and live a less stressful life. Moving to The Villages gave me that, but after 13 years here, I find that I still long for snow at Christmas and more frequent contact with my children and grandchildren up north. I've found the summers here brutal, so be sure you like excessive heat and humidity before moving to Florida. In fact, before deciding to move, you might consider renting here for a summer to make sure you can take the heat. Wish I had done that. If I had it to do over, I would be a snowbird so I could enjoy the best of both worlds. The decision whether to move here permanently is a very personal one. Think it over carefully from all angles.
Old 12-03-2018, 09:40 AM
Default Age Question

I have met many Villagers that are still in their 40s. One of them is my neighbor - her husband is 50. They have non-stop fun. Literally.
Old 12-03-2018, 09:43 AM
Platinum member

I am an opposite snow bird. I live in TV from June through December and go home to Wisconsin for the winter. We bought when I was 44 (that was six years ago).