A Warning

Closed Thread
Old 06-25-2021, 07:05 AM
Send a message via ICQ to gemini5001 Send a message via AIM to gemini5001

Good work isn't cheap and cheap work isn't good !
Old 06-25-2021, 07:24 AM
Sage
Thanked 13,708 Times in 5,240 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Laurel Maryland View Post
I'm new to Florida. Is it legal for a contractor to request a 50% deposit in FL? In Maryland, they cannot, by law, request more than 1/3.
Yes, it is legal in Florida. In Maryland, the contractor can only request a 1/3 deposit, but the homeowner doesn't need to pay it. But, even if you pay a deposit, the homeowner can require it to be paid with a credit card, where the charge can be disputed with the bank within 60 days of the statement date. Any reputable contractor should accept credit card payments. And, as long as you agree in writing that the materials will be delivered within 60 days of the credit card charge, the homeowner has no risk with the credit card payment. If the materials are delayed, you can cancel the credit card charge and issue a new charge.
Old 06-25-2021, 07:27 AM

Never pay anyone in advance, i know at least half a dozen folks in the villages that have lost thousands by doing so.
Old 06-25-2021, 07:49 AM
Sage
Thanked 1,875 Times in 949 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Girlcopper View Post
Fraud? Very hard to prove!! Crime? Prove it!! This is a civil matter. Take it to court for a refund if its even worth the hassle. And again, buyer beware. More homework should have been done since roofing and driveways are the biggests problems with workers
Take it to court in reality is an illusion. An Attorney will cost you like $300 an hour.