Airasia accident solution??????

» Site Navigation
Home Page The Villages Maps The Villages Activities The Villages Clubs The Villages Book Healthcare Rentals Real Estate Section Classified Section The Villages Directory Home Improvement Site Guidelines Advertising Info Register Now Video Tutorials Frequently Asked Questions
» Newsletter Signup
» Premium Tower
» Advertisements
» Trending News
» Tower Sponsors

» Premium Sponsors
» Banner Sponsors
» Advertisements
Closed Thread
Old 01-22-2015, 06:49 PM
Sage
Default Airasia accident solution??????

Probably a dumb question BUT why don't airlines spray foam that allows planes to float?....Needless to say I have NO knowledge of airplane construction. Is there anyone out there that might have the answer and will be kind to this silly question?
Old 01-22-2015, 07:40 PM
Sage

There is no silly question. Spray foam firms up to be pretty rigid. Although the amount of expansion is small, a jet will expand and contract during flight; I would think the rigidity of the foam would not allow for that. I don't work on planes, just have flown quite a few.
For each of us, life is a journey. Where has your life taken you? Your entire life leads to the next step, the chance to define yourself by where you're headed, instead of where you stand. Today is the day you introduce yourself to your destiny.
Old 01-22-2015, 08:10 PM

The issue isn't about floating, it is about dropping around 40,000 feet and the hitting the water. There would be no way for the plane to stay intact.
Old 01-24-2015, 10:34 AM

If you recall, the plane that landed under ideal conditions in the Hudson river floated until everyone was rescued. A safe landing with heavy seas would have a different result regardless of flotation enhancements.
Old 01-24-2015, 10:45 AM
Sage
Send a message via AIM to DonH57