Condo or Home/Villa?

Closed Thread
Old 04-28-2021, 07:22 PM
Location: Bonita Springs FL - half way between Ft Meyers and Naples
Default Condo or Home/Villa?

As a likely future resident, i am simply not understanding the demand for single family homes vs Condominiums, and yes im well aware that there are simply no Condo's or HOA's in TV.
Please convince me that, as a resident of TV, your choice of a home, at age 55+, with the burden of maintenance (roof, painting, grass, sprinklers, cable, etc) has been a good decision, vs what a condo may similarly provide, with an HOA fee.
I feel that you either pay for your amenities through a CDD, and home maintenance by check book, or both of these through an HOA, the total costs being a toss up.
I would love to get feedback to help me figure this dilemma out.
Old 04-28-2021, 07:28 PM
Sage
Thanked 1,922 Times in 783 Posts

People like their privacy. Shared walls don't appeal to many. Many retirees can afford the maintenance on a single-family home. And there are some attached townhouses in TV, and some are for sale.
Old 04-28-2021, 07:32 PM
Sage
Thanked 1,658 Times in 592 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by CFrance View Post
People like their privacy. Shared walls don't appeal to many. Many retirees can afford the maintenance on a single-family home. And there are some attached townhouses in TV, and some are for sale.
Ditto.

I've got a villa with a very low maintenance yard. Other stuff, I deal with it.
I lived in apartments when I was younger and didn't care much for loud neighbors, etc. sharing my wall, so I like a bit of space even if it's not all that much. My lot is a corner and oriented so it feels extremely private.
Old 04-28-2021, 07:44 PM
Sage
Thanked 13,602 Times in 5,194 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Broncosap View Post
As a likely future resident, i am simply not understanding the demand for single family homes vs Condominiums, and yes im well aware that there are simply no Condo's or HOA's in TV.