Condo or Home/Villa?

Closed Thread
Old 04-29-2021, 08:08 AM
Sage
Thanked 1,875 Times in 949 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Broncosap View Post
As a likely future resident, i am simply not understanding the demand for single family homes vs Condominiums, and yes im well aware that there are simply no Condo's or HOA's in TV.
Please convince me that, as a resident of TV, your choice of a home, at age 55+, with the burden of maintenance (roof, painting, grass, sprinklers, cable, etc) has been a good decision, vs what a condo may similarly provide, with an HOA fee.
I feel that you either pay for your amenities through a CDD, and home maintenance by check book, or both of these through an HOA, the total costs being a toss up.
I would love to get feedback to help me figure this dilemma out.
Freedom of choice. A condo as I understand it is an apartment. I've lived over my lifetime in both. When, first married we lived in a rented apartment in a three story building. My point is only difference with a condo is you own it vs paying rent to the owner. At the time there was a TV ad where the guy goes into the bathroom opens the medicine cabinet and sees his neighbor on the other side. We had a neighbor below us that would blast the stereo at 3 am. Above us they got the kid one of those inexpensive electronic keyboard kind of things and would play with it starting at 7 or 8 am.

It a properly run condo, you pay into a fund for stuff like a new roof etc. If, you decide to buy a free standing home you can do the same thing. Set up an account for repairs.
A roof for example does not last forever in a condo or in a free standing home.
Old 04-29-2021, 08:13 AM
Sage
Thanked 13,617 Times in 5,196 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by crash View Post