Contemplating a move to The Villages

Closed Thread
Old 09-05-2020, 10:27 AM

You say "I know there’s an active, officially sanctioned gay Resident Lifestyle group", have you visited and talked with anyone in that group? I'd think that would be a good place to start. Although looking at the responses you've received on this forum, everyone seems very friendly. I should say, I don't live here (yet), but I'm a librarian and we love helping people find the information they need. Good luck!
Old 09-05-2020, 10:34 AM

There is a club group and they have a blast. I can introduce you to someone nice.

Last edited by chrissy2231; 09-05-2020 at 11:06 AM. Reason: wrong info
Old 09-05-2020, 10:41 AM
Sage
Thanked 1,910 Times in 1,528 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by John41 View Post
We have gay friends who enjoyed living here but found most of the gay social clubs were for lesbians not gay men so much. Most people here don’t care if you are gay and will include you in their social activities. However there are a few intolerant people so you want to check out the area by renting first.
This is the intolerance capital of America. Come here as a last resort.
Old 09-05-2020, 10:54 AM
Sage
Thanked 3,645 Times in 1,516 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by jimjamuser View Post
This is the intolerance capital of America. Come here as a last resort.
I guess there are some folks that will feel some "intolerance" if no one agrees with them on their views. There are some folks that will not be happy regardless of where they reside.
Old 09-05-2020, 11:32 AM
Cool Culture in the Villages

I have visited the Villages and have been considering retiring there so I have been following the posts closely now just to get a feel for mind set of this community.

I must ask....why is everyone so nasty? Why do people feel so entitled to attack others who dare to have a different opinion? It is fine to disagree, as we all have a right to state our opinion, but why must it be in such a vicious way?