New "Leisureville"

Closed Thread
Old 10-08-2010, 09:01 AM
Default CROSSROAD COMMONS not LEISUREVILLE

As my bio states I am a former English teacher, turned technology teacher. (and yes I also danced professionally on B'way very briefly and then taught dance).

I am now considering writing a mini novel (maybe a technology driven one) based on my research about 55 active adult communities. I plan on coming to The Villages in December through March, and I am asking for your help.

I am writing the novel in the style of Danielle Steele, I know for the men maybe "bleh", but for me it is just a fun project, not meant to be anything other than LIGHT reading.I decided to call it CROSSROAD COMMONS

I read LEISUREVILLE and I think it doesn't paint the true picture of what I see here on TOTV, many people of my generation who are just kind, informative and helpful to each other on many levels. I find the author's blog (AB) often negative towards generational positions ahead and behind him.

I am looking for the following (yes I will credit your story if used in the forward):
  • Residents finding a second time around relationship after divorce or widowhood (already have one saved)
  • Funny stories about pets versus the FL natural inhabitants (non-human)
  • Younger retired/snowbird residents assisting older residents especially around holidays
  • Learning to adjust to driving a golf cart
  • Making new friendships
  • Anything related to viewing one's self as a FROG
  • Adult children living with parents due to the "recession"
  • New business ventures as a result of needs based community
  • Common concerns:aging, successful retirements, investing issues not working out as planned,