Deep Thinkers

Closed Thread
Old 08-16-2022, 05:17 AM
Default Meaning

We are here to evolve our soul to be a better person - doesn't seem that way looking at the world. But you will have to answer to it in your life review so don't screw it up

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nAm_...nnel=MarkGober
Old 08-16-2022, 05:34 AM
Sage
Thanked 14,043 Times in 5,334 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by retiredguy123 View Post
My bad. Actually, the odds of flipping 100 heads in a row is 1 in 1,300,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000.

I am an engineer, not a mathematician.
Hmm we better get started flipping a coin than. If you use a two headed coin that should improve our odds.
Old 08-16-2022, 05:35 AM
Sage
Thanked 14,043 Times in 5,334 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by MartinSE View Post
It is impossible to prove a negative, so I can't answer your question
As I recall from mathematics years ago when you add a negative number to another negative number you get a positive number.

Since it was so long ago not positive this is correct.
Old 08-16-2022, 05:43 AM
Veteran member

Victor Frankl wrote a book called “Man’s Search for Meaning.” He was a Holocaust survivor. He found those people who survived the camps were not always the strongest but more often those prisoners who had found meaning in their lives. Maybe the hope to meet a loved one again or to write a book when they were released. Often, he said, alcoholics and drug addicts have a sense of no meaning to their lives, that nothing matters. Any grandparent can tell you the power of love and how that gives meaning to their lives. Just looking around at all the happy grandchildren at a family gathering can give one a beautiful feeling of meaning to your life. Others may find meaning in their work helping people. I don’t think I would be very content or happy if I believed there was no meaning to life. Just my thoughts.
Old 08-16-2022, 05:53 AM
Veteran member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Butler View Post